PDA

View Full Version : How To Ignition Advance

stu35
March 17th, 2008, 11:50 AM
I have a 95 RR and a 4 degree advance on the way. Can you please explain to me what I need to do to install it. It is under the right side cover - correct? I need an explanation. I have the Clymer - just not here at work and it is bugging me that I have a mod coming and no idea what I need to do to get it in. Thanks!:V

jawhn
March 17th, 2008, 01:00 PM
There's a how-to with pictures on here somewhere. Search a bit. If you can't find it, I'll look it up tonight.

It's supposedly VERY easy...like... 5 bolts, ten minutes. (Unless I am confused, which is always possible)

speedextreme
March 17th, 2008, 02:42 PM
Yes really easy. Keeping bike on kickstand, remove right side cover, not just the little round one, but the whole side cover. Then remove the bolt holding the timing "sprocket" on, (can't remember if it is a reversed thread or not) put new timing advanced "sprocket" on, put side cover back on. If you do it nicely enough, then you don't have to worry about seal brakeage or leaking!

Laters.

cbr900racer77
March 17th, 2008, 04:26 PM
it's not reverse thread. An electric impact makes it alot easier too (14mm socket)

stu35
March 18th, 2008, 04:59 AM
Do I need to drain the oil? I know - this is a question I need to ask though.:CONF

speedextreme
March 18th, 2008, 06:24 AM
Do I need to drain the oil? I know - this is a question I need to ask though.:CONF

Shouldn't have to, the angle of the bike on the kickstand will allow for removal of that side cover without having to drain anything.

At worst, you will have a little bit come out but not much.

Laters.

stu35
March 18th, 2008, 06:49 AM
Thanks! I will get the tires up on boards as well to increase the angle.

Stu

speedextreme
March 18th, 2008, 07:52 AM
I wouldn't do that. Unless you are talking about like some 1" or something like that.